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Subject:  Fireworks violations 

Many common fireworks violations are described in Texas Occupations Code §2154.251, or in the 
“Fireworks Rules” (28 TAC 34.800).  This chart identifies the most common violations, the exact code 
violation, and the offense type to help you prepare charges for these common offenses.  If you have any 
questions, please call 281-436-8030 and ask for the on-duty inspector during normal business hours. On-
duty inspectors and inspection supervisors can also be reached on FM-1, 7:30A-10:00P daily.   
 
 

(a)A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 2154.101(b), (c)(2), 
or (d), 2154.151(e), or 2154.201(a), (b)(2), or (c) or Subchapter F. 

(b) Except as provided by Subsection (c), an offense under this section is a 
Class B Misdemeanor 

2154.303 (a) 

   2154.303 (b) 

 

A fire marshal, their deputies, or a peace officer may seize illegal fireworks. 

IF YOU DECIDE TO SEIZE FIREWORKS, CALL US FOR ASSISTANCE. 
2154.304(a)  

Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 2154:  PROHIBITED USE OF FIREWORKS (Subchapter F)   

Violation Code Offense 

A person may not manufacture, distribute, sell, or use fireworks in a public fireworks 
display or for agricultural, industrial or wildlife control purposes without an appropriate 
license or permit. Fireworks manufactured, distributed, sold, or used without an 
appropriate license or permit are illegal fireworks. 

2154.251 (b) 

 

 

 

 

 

  Class “B”  

 

 

 

___________ 

The following 
are         
Class “C”  

Fireworks may not be sold or offered for sale to children under 16 years of age, or to 
an intoxicated or incompetent person. A person selling fireworks at retail shall make a 
reasonable effort to determine that potential purchasers of fireworks are of the 
minimum age required by this subsection 

2154.252 (c) 

Only Fireworks 1.4G may be sold to the general public, and only at authorized retail 
locations. (must have a valid permit for that specific location) 

2154.252 (b) 

Sell, store, manufacture, distribute, or display fireworks except as provided by this 
chapter or rules adopted by the commissioner under this chapter.  THIS SECTION 
TIES THE FOLLOWING FIREWORKS RULES TO A VIOLATION OF LAW. 

2154.251(a)(8) 

Fireworks may be sold to the public (1) beginning June 24 and ending at midnight on 
July 4; and (2) beginning December 20 and ending at midnight on January 1 of the 
following year. (Fireworks may be used year-round.) 

2154.202 (g) Unless the 
violation 
results in $200 
or more in 
property 
damage,  

OR  

2) bodily injury 
or death.   

If so, it is a 
Class “B” 

Sell at retail, explode, or ignite fireworks within 100 feet of a place where flammable 
liquids or flammable compressed gasses are stored and dispensed;   

2154.251 (a)(2) 

Explode or ignite fireworks within 100 feet of a place where fireworks are stored or 
sold; 

2154.251 (a)(3) 

Ignite or discharge fireworks in or from a motor vehicle;               2154.251 (a)(4) 

Explode or ignite fireworks within 600 feet of any church, a hospital other than a 
veterinary hospital, an asylum, a licensed child care center, or a public or private 
primary or secondary school or institution of higher education unless the person 
receives authorization in writing from that organization; 

2154.251 (a)(1) 

Place ignited fireworks in, or throw ignited fireworks at, a motor vehicle; 2154.251 (a)(5) 2154.303 (c) 

The display or sales of fireworks from tents and motor vehicles is prohibited.  TAC 34.817(f)  

Smoking shall not be permitted.  The presence of lighted cigars, cigarettes, or pipes 
within 10 feet of any site where fireworks are sold or stored is prohibited. 

TAC 34.817(g) 

The consumption or possession of alcoholic beverages is prohibited. No employee 
shall be under the influence of or consume alcoholic beverages while on duty. 

TAC 34.817(h) 

The display or offer for sale or sales of fireworks from single or multifamily residential 
structures is prohibited. 

TAC 34.817(k) 

After hours, please call 281-999-2200 (the complaint line) and the on-duty inspector will be 
paged. 

 

 

 

 


