Precinct 6 is accepting applications for Telecommunications Dispatchers
Telecommunications Dispatcher, also known as a Police Dispatcher, are the front line call-takers of all emergency and nonemergency calls from residents within the unincorporated area of Harris County. They are also responsible for directing deputies where to go once that call is received. Because communication officers often deal with life and death situations, it is critical that the candidate for this position possess the ability to stay calm while reassuring the caller that help is on the way. It also requires a considerable degree of initiative and independent judgment within procedural boundaries in responding to emotional, disturbing and sometimes abusive people in a variety of situations. If you are looking for a challenging and rewarding experience, and have the ability to multitask, mediate and lead, we are looking for you.
Hours: Full Time 40 Hours per week / Various Shifts
Salary: $16.37 per hour
Education: High School Diploma or G.E.D. equivalent is required
• Applicants must be at least 21 years of age.
• Be a citizen of the United States of America and be able to demonstrate proof of US citizenship.
• All applicants with military experience must have an Honorable Discharge.
• Have a valid driver’s license or Identification Card.
• Provide employment history, including the number of jobs and reason for leaving.
• Complete a Psychological Examination.
• Preference to those who have Basic Telecommunication, Crisis Communication and TCOLE Overview training.
• Be willing to complete TCOLE requirements for Telecommunicators.
EMPLOYMENT IS CONTINGENT UPON PASSING A CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK
Close Date: Until Filed
How to Apply: Fill out an application at Harris County Precinct 6 Constable's Office
333 Lockwood Drive, Houston, TX 77011 between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:00 pm. Ask to speak to Sergeant Leal or Deputy Magallanes
RESERVE PEACE OFFICER TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
Recruiting questions can be directed to :
Sergeant Marco Leal
Harris County Precinct 6 (as well as most other departments) require a basic peace officer certification prior to commissioning. After completing the mandated training, a reserve candidate may begin the application process by contacting our personnel division at (713) 923-9156. Several Houston area colleges, such as U.H.Downtown, H.C.C.System and C.O.M. Texas City offer peace officer classes and academies. Please go to TCLOSE web site for other state requirements, certification and licensing information or contact our office.
The total mandated training of 620 hours (mandated by T.C.L.E.O.S.E.) usually only represents the minimum hours of state certified training a Reserve acquires. Many academies surpass the minimum amount of hours to ensure cadets receive quality training. TCLEOSE mandates in-service training for continuing education every year; along with an annual firearms qualifications.
Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education
Updated on 6-24-15 MAC
|* Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view and/or print this document. If you don't already have Acrobat Reader you may if desired) download the free software by clicking the logo.